My Personal Goals for June!

Hello readers,

Recently I’ve had quite a few life changes. I graduated from college, I started my first full-time job, my best friend is moving across the country at the end of the week, and I’m moving to the other side of Philadelphia within the next month. Needless to say, I’m beginning to feel overwhelmed over the slightest of things. In an effort to keep my life (and sanity) on track, I decided to create personal goals for the month of June. When June is over, I’ll reflect on my goals and if I think I did well with them. If this allows me to stay more right-minded, I’ll continue this every month.

1) Stop catastrophizing everything.

Catastrophizing (arguably not a word, but it is in self-help books!) has plagued my day-to-day activities even before I discovered the word for it. Every situation seems to trigger to an incredible reaction. Starting a new job? Well, I’m terrified that I’m going get lost on the subway, get off at the wrong stop, be out of money, and not be able to make it to my first day of work having me fired before my job even begins. Relationship troubles? No worries, I’m just under the impression that my relationship troubles will never get solved, he’ll get bored of me and start talking to somebody else… oh my god he’s probably talking to somebody else, wow, let me begin to draft up the text I’m going to send him confronting him about this!

These are my mindsets every single day. The worst part is that I do them without even realizing it. I can somehow go from a mundane thought and it suddenly becomes a reality in my mind no matter how ridiculous it seems to an outsider. This thinking has gotten me into quite some trouble and has always made problems I was experiencing even worse. When I get depressed or overwhelmed, I catastrophize, and nothing will make me feel positive enough to step outside of my own thoughts and evaluate the ridiculousness that’s going on inside my head. This is the one goal that I will always have for every day.

2) Bring more attention back to my friendships.

Having a full-time job is rough. Graduating is rough. When you have little-to-no commonalities holding your friendships together anymore, it can be hard to keep those friendships flourishing. If I’m going to keep having the same group of awesome friends somewhat in my life, I need to make sure I’m putting effort into sustaining them. I want to strengthen at least 1 friendship I have within the next month.

3) Open a savings account.

Up until getting my full-time job, I haven’t been able to save up any money. I’ve been bouncing around my entire college career working jobs with a pay of $8/hr. Between my credit card, rent and food, saving money hasn’t been possible for me, but I can admit that I spend my money on a lot of shit (cough cough, alcohol). Anyways, I’m hoping to open a savings account (don’t make fun of me). After that, I’ll see where saving money takes me.

4) Make myself go to at least 2 concerts.

Going to shows and concerts has always been my most favorite stress-reliever. I can honestly say that if someone videotaped what my face looked like during a show, I would be absolutely gleaming. Nothing quite takes me away from my worries quite like a show. In an effort to do more activities I enjoy, I want to make it a goal to go to 2 concerts in the month of June.

What bands should I be on the lookout for? Are they any coming to Philly that you would recommend? Let me know in the comments!

 

At the end of June, I’ll attempt to check-in about how well I was able to keep up with my goals, then hopefully, will give you all new and exciting goals for August.

What goals did you set for yourself this summer?

Xoxo

 

 

Leave a Reply

