New Product First Impressions – Wet n’ Wild

Hello readers,

I’m no makeup artist, but in the past year or so, I have become obsessed with knowing and understanding makeup. I appreciate makeup tutorials as well as makeup reviews and try my best to become knowledgeable on at least drugstore makeup (the stuff I can actually afford). Today, I decided to treat myself to some new products released from Wet n’ Wild, and I’m here to give you all of the details of my first impressions of these products.

Editor’s Note: I am pale. I have a very textured face (discoloration, large pores, and small bits of acne). I would say I have combination skin and I break-out easily in my T-zone.

 

Wet n’ Wild PhotoFocus Foundation

Shade: Nude Ivory (see – “Light – Neutral” as labeled on the stand)

I had high hopes for this foundation. Youtube gurus swooned over it. This foundation was only $6, but it took forever for me to get my hands on. Aside from the difficulty of finding this foundation, when I was finally able to look at the display, I couldn’t quite tell which shade would be best for me. There are 20 shades in the line. Shades labeled “Fair – Warm” and “Light – Cool” confused me. What’s the difference between fair and light here? The first 5 shades all looked the same. I was happy that there was so many options, but it’s hard to tell which shade would be best when it’s in the bottle. Anyways, a few of the fair shades were missing from the display, so I decided to grab Nude Ivory or “Light – Neutral” and hoped for the best.

First impressions of this foundation was it has a faint chemical/fake makeup smell. You know how children’s makeup has an odd smell? Yeah, this foundation sorta smells like that. The foundation comes with an applicator that looks like a spatula, which I really enjoy. Putting this foundation on my face, it was a perfect match for my skin tone, which is odd because this was technically 3 shades darker than what I normally am. For comparison, I am the second lightest shade in both the L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte/Pro-Glow foundation and the Maybelline Fit Me Matte and Poreless. With most brands, I am either the lightest shade or second lightest shade depending on their shade range, so being 3 shades darker than usual with Wet n’ Wild confused me as to how their lighter shades look. In any case, I began to put on this foundation and found it to be medium coverage with a natural finish. It accentuated my pores and the texture of my face to the point where my T-zone looked like cake. It dried down very quickly. I used a stippling brush to blend, but I would suggest using a beauty sponge.

Final Thoughts: Is it worth the $6? Absolutely. Is it going to compliment every type of skin? No. If your face is more textured than not, this probably will not be the foundation for you. When I’m going out or have an occasion to go to, I won’t be reaching for this, but it’s a decent foundation for days that are more chill nonetheless.

Score: 7 / 10

porcelain1
Wet n’ Wild PhotoFocus Foundation – Porecelain

 

Wet n’ Wild PhotoFocus Concealer

Shade: Light Ivory

For a $3 concealer, this hits the nail on the head as a win. There are 6 concealer shades, though I only saw 3 in the drugstore: Light Ivory, Light/Med Beige, Medium Tawny, Medium Peach, Med/Deep Tan, and Dark Cocoa. It’s a creamy formula with a great doe-foot applicator. I have actually been using Wet n’ Wild’s concealer for about 3 weeks now (I’m sorry I cheated). I use a stippling brush to blend, and it blends really well (not sure how a sponge would work with it). I don’t tend to crease under my eyes so I can’t speak on that, but I would say it’s medium coverage.

Final thoughts: From a shade standpoint, I didn’t enjoy that the lightest shade was the same exact shade as my foundation.  In any case, this is a good concealer. I usually wear it alone to work. It never builds up, looks cake-y, or creases. If you like a more full-coverage concealer, I’m not sure if you’re going to like this.

Score: 8 / 10

840b2
Wet n’ Wild PhotoFocus Concealer – Ivory

 

Wet n’ Wild Au Naturel Palette

Shade: Nude Awakening

I don’t have too many feelings on this palette. The color profile is beautiful – I love burgundys and pinks (I have green eyes). The white/nude shade is a good base color, the two shimmer colors following dissolve into nothing. The true winners of the palette are the middle four colors (foil copper color to matte maroon). The following 3 shades are decent, but they’re muddy and end up looking like dirt when blended out. The shades aren’t creamy. They’re dry, but they’re not chalky.

Final Thoughts: For $6.99, this palette is good. I will only reach for the middle 4 colors, but that’s just based on personal preference. The colors blend okay, they could blend better but, hey, it’s a $7 palette. I would steer away from the light pink and nude shimmer colors at the very front of the palette. They are shimmer-y, but completely lose their color as they get blended into the skin. The 2 foil colors are INCREDIBLE. If you wet your brush before dipping into those, you will get the most pigmented foil.

Score: 8 / 10

au naturel
Wet n’ wild Au Natural Palette – Nude Awakening

 

Wet n’ Wild MegaGlo Highlighting Powder

Shade: Precious Petals

For a $3 highlighter, this product is AMAZING, surpassing even the most expensive highlighters. I work full-time and I’m not Instagram model, so my highlighter has to be more subtle. Though not a blinding glow, it’s buildable and creates a very natural-looking highlight. For being pale, highlighters are usually a miss. Either a highlighter is too pale for my skin tone (washing me out) or too golden (making me look awkwardly tan in my upper cheekbone area). Precious Petals is the perfect shade for pale skin. I’m not someone who loves blinding highlighters. For deeper skin tones, I’m not sure if this highlighter will work for you. Wet n’ Wild only has 2 shades: Precious Petals and Crown of My Canopy (which is more pink). Jeffree Star sells some amazing deeper highlight shades with much more product that I would spend my money on if I had a deeper skin tone.

Final Thoughts: If you love highlighters, make sure to get your hands on this. That is all.

Score: 9 / 10

highlighter
Wet n’ Wild MegaGlo Highlighting Powder – Precious Petals

 

Thank you for tuning into my New Product Review of Wet n’ Wild products! If you would like to see a specific product reviewed, just let me know in the comments. Xoxo

Leave a Reply

